Bus Conduct

Direct transportation/bus discipline questions to: 738-4360

Each school bus passenger shall:

1. Be under the direct supervision and authority of the bus driver.

2. Be in their assigned seat when door closes and a bus begins motion.

3. Keep hands and feet, books and other objects to yourself.

4. Refrain from swearing, rude gestures, cruel teasing (verbal or nonverbal).

5. Follow bus driver’s instructions.

6. Be at the bus stop at least five (5) minutes, but not more than ten (10) minutes prior to bus arrival time.


When a student is guilty of misconduct, the driver will give the completed Misconduct Report to the school administrator.  Consequences for bus misconduct will follow E.C.S.D. guidelines and policy.  Please note that after disposition of the misconduct report, copies will be distributed to the student, parents, transportation department, and the driver.


Each school bus passenger shall:

1. Be under the direct supervision and authority of the bus driver.

2. Have written permission to leave the bus other than at the regular stop or at school.

3. Be in their assigned seat when door closes and a bus begins motion.

4. Keep hands and feet, books and other objects to yourself.

5. Refrain from swearing, rude gestures, cruel teasing (verbal or nonverbal).

6. Follow bus driver's instructions.

7. Be at the bus stop at least five (5) minutes, but not more than ten (10) minutes prior to bus arrival time.

When a student is guilty of misconduct, the driver will give the completed Misconduct Report to the school administrator. After disposition of the report, copies will be distributed to the student, parents, transportation department, and the driver.


The following courses of action are considered as minimum:

First:         Driver gives warning by name.

Second: Driver changes seat assignment.

Third: Issues first misconduct report. Parent conference or written notification by principal.

Fourth: Issue second misconduct report. Suspension from riding 3 to 5 days by principal. Parent conference to be held prior to                                 reinstatement.

Fifth:         Issue third misconduct report. Suspension from riding bus minimum of 10 days by principal. Parent conference held prior to                         reinstatement.

Sixth: Issue fourth misconduct report. Excluded from the bus for the balance of year. Parent conference and/or written notification.


The severity of student action may result in permanent suspension from the privileges of bus transportation: 

1. Commit or threaten to commit physical harm to driver or passengers. 

2. Damages or destroys school property. 

3. Absolutely refuses to obey or follow instructions. 

4. Engages in any activity to distract driver's attention from the road.

Suspension from bus transportation does not excuse the student from school attendance as required by the Compulsory Education Laws of the State of Nevada, N.R.S. 392.140.

The severity of student action may result in permanent suspension from the privileges of bus transportation for the following reasons:


Suspension from bus transportation does not excuse the student from school attendance as required by the Compulsory Education Laws of the State of Nevada, N.R.S. 392.140.


Comments